Provincial Nominee Program

Most provinces and territories in Canada have an agreement with the Government of Canada that lets them nominate immigrants who want to settle there.
You must apply in two stages.

1. First, you must apply to the province or territory where you want to live. It will review your application based on two things:

• its immigration needs and
• if you really plan to live there.
The criteria vary and can change without notice so it is very important to remain updated.

2. After a province or territory nominates you, you must apply to Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) for permanent residence. A CIC officer will assess your application based on Canadian rules.

As part of the process, you will have to pass a medical exam and get a police check (certificate). All immigrants must have these checks, no matter where they plan to live in Canada.
Refer to each individual province/territory to identify the specific programs available in each:
• Alberta
• British Columbia
• Manitoba
• New Brunswick
• Newfoundland and Labrador
• Northwest Territories
• Nova Scotia
• Ontario
• Prince Edward Island
• Saskatchewan
• Yukon